soundtrack to my life


Music challenges. Music excites. Music distracts. Music compels. Music moves. Music comforts. This is a non-exhaustive listing of the top ten songs that describe my life. Some pick you up, some tear you down, and some just meet you right where you’re at. Music to cry to. Music to die to.

10. NirvanaLithium

I like you, I’m not gonna crack I miss you, I’m not gonna crack I love you, I’m not gonna crack I love you, I’m not gonna crack I like you, I’m not gonna crack I miss you, I’m not gonna crack I love you, I’m not gonna crack I killed you, I’m not gonna crack I’m so happy ’cause today, I found my friends They’re in my head I’m so ugly but that’s okay, ’cause so are you We broke our mirrors

9. PinkFuckin’ Perfect

Chased down all my demons, I’ve seen you do the same. Oh, Pretty, pretty please Don’t you ever, ever feel Like your less than fuckin’ perfect. Pretty, pretty please If you ever, ever feel Like your nothing You’re fuckin’ perfect to me.

8. Depeche ModePersonal Jesus

Things on your chest You need to confess I will deliver You know I’m a forgiver Reach out and touch faith Your own Personal Jesus

7. Tori AmosSilent All These Years

Sometimes, I said sometimes I hear my voice I hear my voice I hear my voice and it’s been here Silent all these years

6. Amy WinehouseRehab

They tried to make me go to rehab, I said, “No, no, no” Yes, I’ve been black but when I come back you’ll know, know, know I ain’t got the time and if my daddy thinks I’m fine He’s tried to make me go to rehab, I won’t go, go, go

5. Annie LennoxPavement Cracks

How come Every day I’m still waiting for the change? How come I still say Give me strength to live? Where is my comfort zone? A simple place to call my own ‘Cause everything I wanna be Comes crashing down on me And it don’t show up in the pavement cracks I can’t even recognise my tracks You and I can’t turn the whole thing back Ooh I wish you well

4. Ben Folds FiveBrick

can’t you see, it’s not me you’re dying for? now she’s feeling more alone than she ever has before she’s a brick and I’m drowning slowly off the coast and I’m headed nowhere she’s a brick and I’m drowning slowly as weeks went by it showed that she was not fine they told me, “Son, it’s time to tell the truth” and she broke down and I broke down ’cause I was tired… of lying driving back to her apartment for the moment we’re alone yeah, she’s alone and I’m alone and now I know it

3. PinkSober

Aahh the sun is blinding I stayed up again Oohh, I am finding That’s not the way I want my story to end I’m safe Up high Nothing can touch me But why do I feel this party’s over?

2. Bonnie TylerTotal Eclipse of the Heart

Once upon a time I was falling in love Now I’m only falling apart There’s nothing I can do A total eclipse of the heart Once upon a time there was light in my life But now there’s only love in the dark Nothing I can say A total eclipse of the heart

1. Savage GardenCrash and Burn

When you feel all alone And a loyal friend is hard to find You’re caught in a one way street With the monsters in your head When hopes and dreams are far away and You feel like you can’t face the day Let me be the one you call If you jump I’ll break your fall Lift you up and fly away with you into the night If you need to fall apart I can mend a broken heart If you need to crash then crash and burn You’re not alone

Kirk Rehn
rehn.kirk@gmail.com · 415.799.6248
www.facebook.com/rehn.kirk
· Twitter @sfboy1983

Currently playing in my iTunes:
Making Love Out Of Nothing At All – Bonnie Tyler – Greatest Hits
http://www.last.fm/music/Bonnie+Tyler

Related posts by me or from around the web:
beautiful meth

beautiful mess

4 thoughts on “soundtrack to my life

  1. Pingback: suicide blonde « sfboy1983

  2. Pingback: rule the world « sfboy1983

  3. Pingback: please don’t go « sfboy1983

  4. Pingback: baby you can be my motivation « sfboy1983

Leave a Reply

