Taking down my blog :(


Sadly, as part of my publishing experience, Amazon requires that content I make available for purchase cannot be freely given away anywhere else, including my own blog or website. I’ve left as many posts as possible online, but I’ve had to make “private” anything that’s in my book. I wish I was able to offer discounts to my blog followers, because you’ve meant so much to me over these years (if I figure out a way to do so, you’ll be the first to know!) Many of you are also struggling with mental health issues, or drug abuse issues. Many of you know someone who is, even if you yourself don’t have these issues. Either way, I hope I’ve been able and will be able to provide a much-needed perspective – the perspective of the person living and struggling with these diseases. There’s a lot of clinical books out on how to “handle” and “deal with” people like me. I don’t want to be “handled.” I want to be loved. I hope my works show the suffering that takes place daily in the the lives of people living with these diseases. But, I also want my works to show that there is hope. Yes, I still suffer from borderline personality. Yes, I’m still an active drug user. But you know what? I’m alive. I have to repeat that. I’m alive. You have no idea how important that is, how unlikely that is, and how precious that is. I attempted suicide 14 times. I lived on the streets for years. I’ve struggled so hard to end this life that I forgot to struggle to see the beauty of life instead. No, my book doesn’t provide much hope, because I don’t see a lot of hope. But, I’m alive. That’s more than I’ve been able to say before. And maybe, with each passing day, I’ll come to appreciate life more, and find more reasons to go on. And that’s why I write. To show that I’m not alone and you’re not alone, that there is a shared human experience, that that experience may be awful sometimes, but that others have endured, and so can you, and so can I. That’s my message.

Until Amazon lets me re-enable my blog, you can find my book “Borderline Affairs: A Memoir” on Amazon by searching for the title or under the topic of borderline personality and self-help/mood disorders category. I’m not trying this out make a ton of money off this. I just want to spread to a wider audience and maybe reach someone that really needs to be reached. That said, the book is only $3.49 on Kindle, or $9.99 in print. And you get to see my beautiful photoshop cover art! I appreciate any interest, and I remain available on my blog. I want to hear from you. And I’ll keep posting updated entries.

Much love,

Kirk Rehn

Amazon Kindle book link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PE7QMNI

2 thoughts on “Taking down my blog :(

    • Oh you do know how flatter a boy. I’m blushing. But, unfortunately, as I’m sure many authors before me have discovered, publishing with Amazon means doing things their way or not at all. I think I only have to take down my blog for 90 days, although that may be extended based on sales. My book is on discount in December, in time for the holidays, so check Amazon! I feel so selfish, especially since my goal was to reach a larger audience, not to cut access to my existing audience, but at the moment I have no choice. Amazon let’s you preview the first ten percent of the book at no charge, those are some of the most controversial posts so it might be an interesting, if not provocative, read. If you like it, I’d be honored if you decided to purchase the book. The Kindle edition, which can be read on any device, not just Kindle, is only $3.49. They set the pricing, not me, but I think it’s a reasonable cost and compensation for my effort. Of course, no amount of money would erase my past, but I’m hoping that a few people can be reached that may not have to endure what I’ve endured, if only they knew what I’d been through. A boy can dream anyways. So, I’m very sorry, but please subscribe to my blog to continue to get updates, and check Amazon frequently for price breaks. Kindle Unlimited subscribers get it for free, by the way, or it can be “borrowed” by Prime members. Perhaps you’d consider those options? I left up my life story, parts 1-8, but it is currently unfinished beyond that point. If there’s sufficient interest, I may finish that essay. Thank you so much for your interest and support, it means so much to me. I hope you’re able to find a way to finish reading what you’ve started. Many blessings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

